Moving through Fear

How do I move through my fear?
As a cat slinks through summer grass
past a pack of dogs, with focus.
How do I move through my fear?
As the mother who runs back into the fire.
How do I move through my fear?
As she who sleeps in a winter cave.
As hope would, as wildflowers growing up through the ash.

How do I move through my fear?
The question slices itself through the air.

How do I move through my fear?
As a goose flying south through violent skies,
as a shepherd leading her flock of one.
As an animal on all fours,
quietly and with measured steps.

How do I move through my fear?
As a woman might who has broken in two, twice,
and has mended at least one broken heart.

How do I move through my fear?
In stillness, the mountain that withstands
and outlasts the storm.

Who am I moving through my fear?
A goddess, of course, is the only possible answer.

Who am I moving through my fear?
A human being on two legs, strong and imperfect.
Who am I moving through my fear?
She who lifts the weak above the flooded river
to safety.

How do I walk through my fear?
In tears, one footfall at a time,
stepping again and again into magnificence,
my magnificence,
until it overwhelms me from all sides
and I become whole, round and full as the wheel,
as the seasons of my own turning.

Posted in: Uncategorized

Comment

