Too Bad

The bud
stands for all things,
even those things that don’t flower,
for everything flowers, from within, with self-blessing…

Galway Kinnell, from “Saint Francis and the Sow”

Too bad
the bud
can’t stand for all things.
Too bad
the bud
can’t sprout a tooth whole,
sparing her the pain
of pushing upward through bone.
The intent carries no malice;
it is simply following orders
so carefully designed and encoded
by the God of the Tooth.

What instructions are encoded in me?
What bone must I thrust myself through,
what flesh must be broken,
in order that I may fulfill
my predestined state? What God must I obey?
But then oh! Once I’ve emerged,
I will require great care,
or frankly, I may ache, and rot, and fall away.

Posted in: Uncategorized

Comment

