The Fib

I wrote some poems this week based on a form invented by Gregory K. Pincus based on the Fibonacci Sequence. The syllables go 1-1-2-3-5-8…

It was actually a satisfying way of boiling things down to their essences and getting some writing in without great fanfare. I invite you to try it!

Here they are:

Swim
up
to the
blue wet bar
Little umbrellas
Fancy drinks in a violent world

Bangs
trimmed
Baby
looks older
Pearly’s on her way
Ready or not, ready to grow

Crushed
O’s
crunching
everywhere
I have given up
The broom sulks: Why bother with me?

Call
me
cocky,
confident
but not arrogant
Don’t take up too much room, ya hear?

Trust
this
quiet
This blessing
The gifts of new friends,
of self-acceptance and wrinkles

Dream
big
my child
You will go
discover yourself
in the most unexpected rooms

Posted in: Uncategorized

One thought on “The Fib

  1. Gregory K. says:

    Always good to see Fibbing! I’d note that I didn’t invent Fibonacci poetry, though I believe “The Fib” as a name is all mine….

    Thanks for the shout out!

    Like

Comment

