Zucchini and… Taxes

Here’s the thing. We have the world’s greatest accountant, and I am having a hard time keeping her to ourselves. Her name is Carol and she lives in what are known around here as “The Islands.” In addition to doing our personal & business taxes, she has recently stepped into the role of financial adviser for us. She is a godsend. I wish there were some award I could nominate her for, so in the meantime, I figured I could at least blog about her.

I am not joking even a little when I say that I actually enjoy our meetings. I have fun in her office. She gets us. She values what we value. She encourages us to be with our kids and do what we love. She laughs a lot and puts us at ease. She drives a Prius and does these crazy-long bike rides for charity. She has grandchildren. She saves us money. I leave her office feeling a little giddy, affirmed, and reassured, even kind of excited to tackle our inevitable to-do list, which she writes out on a little carbon-paper notepad, just like the fifth-grade math teacher she once was.

Meeting with Carol this past week, we left with more than all that: A dozen eggs (she has 30 chickens in a coop), two giant zucchinis, half a dozen green peppers, and beets that went down like butter they were so sweet & tender. You’d have thought we just visited the South Hero farmer’s market instead of our financial adviser/accountant’s (home) (farm) office. And what a sight she was, walking through the muddy grounds of her huge, gorgeous vegetable gardens, calling out to us, “Do you like eggplants?”

When we got home, first I got busy in the study, all motivated to clear the decks – pay bills, file papers, make calls, etc. Then I got busy in the kitchen. I cracked those eggs, I chopped that zucchini, I boiled those beets. I made a crust. And I baked this quiche:

But… I still have a GIANT zucchini in the fridge. I know I could go online (or in a cookbook – imagine that) and get a good basic zucchini bread recipe. But I thought it would be so much more fun to invite you, oh mystery reader, to share yours. Click on “Comments” to do that. And by all means, if you are looking for an accountant, absolutely get in touch with me and I’ll give you her contact information!

One thought on “Zucchini and… Taxes

  1. Lindsay says:

    Zucchini-Raisin Muffins
    (from The Vegetarian Family Cookbook by Nava Atlas)

    1 3/4 cups ww pastry flour
    1/4 cup wheat germ or flaxseeds
    1 1/2 tsp baking powder
    1/2 tsp baking soda
    1/2 tsp cinnamon
    1/2 cup granulated sugar (I use 1 cup raw sugar)
    1 cup vanilla low fat yogurt
    2 tbs safflower oil
    1/3 cup low fat milk (regular, soy or rice)
    1 cup firmly packed zucchini grated
    3/4 cup raisins
    1/3 cup walnuts (optional)

    Directions:
    ~Preheat oven to 350 and grease muffin pan
    ~Combine flour, wheat germ, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon and sugar in a mixing bowl and stir together.
    ~Make a well in the center and pour the yogurt, oil, and milk to make a smooth, still slightly stiff batter.
    ~Next, stir in zucchini, raisins and walnuts if using. (I also added chopped zucchini in addition, for a more exciting muffin!)
    ~Put in to muffin cups and bake for 20-25 minutes. Or in to a lightly oiled 9 by 5 by 3 loaf pan and bake 40-45 minutes.

    Enjoy! You should definitely check this cookbook out ~ There are tons of amazing recipies.

    Like

Comment

