Rabbi Hungry

I used to be rabbi hungry:
I was hungry, hungry for rabbis
Would pet their beards
pick their brains
praise their wisdom
seek some benediction
Couldn’t they be a little more like priests –
you know, have answers?

But no
Each one sent me away
This one, a mentor, that one a schmuck
They were all so… human
Mortal
Normal

Black Hat opposition
Reform lesbians leading in translation
My first Kaddish transliteration
Conservative white guy alienation

For years I shopped around for the rabbi
I thought I wanted to be –
championing inclusivity and performing naked
interfaith wedding ceremonies
Instead babies followed bellies
I anointed them with names –
Pearl – Moon – Springtime – Treasure –

Slowly, slowly my appetite turned inward
I got hungry
for stillness
I started cooking for myself
Feeding my own soul
and being my own damn rabbi

Posted in: Uncategorized

One thought on “Rabbi Hungry

Comment

