I See the Boy

In a cloak of anger
I see a boy
booming with false power

In a cloak of anger
I feel the burning
in my ears, cheeks
words meant to sting
bring heat

In a cloak of anger
I see the girl
escaping
out the window
out the door
through the hole in the wall
where a fist landed

In a cloak of anger
I see the boy
standing in the living room
as strangers sort
his father’s clothes

In a cloak of anger
I see the child
it is you, it is me
small, cowering there

throw off the cloak
let tears stream like tributaries
to oceans of knowing
as I wrap my arms
around your beautiful self

throw off the cloak
no need for power
or explanation

I see the child, the man, the boy
and the woman in me
who was born
at this very moment
just to hold you

Posted in: Uncategorized

7 thoughts on “I See the Boy

Comment

