The Waiting Game

Waiting for my ride.
Waiting for my calling.
Waiting for my messiah.
Waiting for my epiphany.
Waiting for my escape hatch.
Waiting for my appointment.
Waiting for my hair to dry.
Waiting for my breath to deepen.
Waiting for the other shoe to drop.
Waiting for a 180.
Waiting for a 360.
Waiting for the house to be quiet.
Waiting for the news to break.
Waiting for the break to heal.
Waiting for the skies to clear.
Waiting for my sinuses to clear.
Waiting for clarity.
Waiting for inspiration.
Waiting for the dust to settle.
Waiting for the water to boil.
Waiting for the toast to pop.
Waiting for the movie to start.
Waiting for sleep to take over.
Waiting for a magic click.
Waiting for perfect conditions.
Waiting for more money.
Waiting for spring, summer, fall, winter.
Waiting until I’m better prepared.
Waiting until I’m better looking.
Waiting for a good hair day.
Waiting for the light to change.
Waiting for the curtain to rise, or fall.
Waiting for the intermission.
Waiting for justice.
Waiting for an end to the suffering.
Waiting for election day.
Waiting for a belly laugh.
Waiting for the tide to go out.
Waiting for the tide to go in.
Waiting for the mail carrier.
Waiting for the rejection.
Waiting for the acceptance.
Waiting for the invitation.
Waiting for the junk.
Waiting for the drugs to kick in.
Waiting for the drugs to wear off.
Waiting for my tea to cool.
Waiting for my fish to fry.
Waiting for who, what, where, when, and why.
Waiting for my little birds.
Waiting for nothing.

What are you waiting for?

Posted in: Uncategorized

7 thoughts on “The Waiting Game

  1. bella says:

    I am waiting for the weather to warm
    for spring to come
    for the bath to fill
    waiting for the ground to thaw
    the flower to bloom
    the coffee to brew
    I am waiting in darkness, trusting the light will come.

    Like

  2. meg casey says:

    Oh dear Jena-
    You so beautifully captured the agony/exhilaration/hopefulness/hopelessness of being in the future. I am waiting to stop waiting. I am waiting to let go and be here.
    Thanks for this one.
    xo
    m

    Like

  3. Jena Strong says:

    Waiting for
    warm weather,
    coffee,
    youth,
    to stop waiting,
    for the baby to wake up…

    Everything in its own time.

    I actually think I waited a little less today. Amazing.

    You are each a part of this.

    xo Jena

    Like

  4. Jennifer/The Word Cellar says:

    me? i’m waiting to be tired enough to go to bed. and for a moment of clarity in which to make a life-altering decision. i’m guessing the first one will come sooner. :)

    Like

Comment

