Prayers for Jen B.

I didn’t expect to post more today, but this couldn’t wait.

Jen Ballantyne needs me. She needs you. She needs all of us to send our loving prayers of strength and support. And we need her.

Jen lives in Australia – I first discovered her blog, The Comfy Place, through the wonderful Meg Casey. I was immediately taken by her smile, later by her words, and ultimately, by her phenomenally brave, taboo-breaking, unflinching, graceful battle with advanced colon cancer.

Jen has just shared on her blog that her cancer has returned, and the prognosis is not good. Please stop by The Comfy Place to let her know you’re thinking of her. And if you’d like to help in other ways, Meg and the magnificent Jen Lemen are organizing that effort – email them at weloveyoujen(at)gmail(dot)com to let them know you’re interested.

All morning, I’ve had that beautiful Mary Oliver line stuck in my head:

Tell me, what is it you plan to do
with your one wild and precious life?

When I read these same words on Bella’s blog today, I thought to myself: These words are in the air. And really, what else is there? Bella also passed along this award to Jen B. I was honored to receive the same award recently from Shawn, and want to share mine with Jen, as well. Here you go, my friend.

Speaking of treasures, I’m going away this weekend – yoga and snowshoeing in the White Mountains with an old friend. I’ll spend some time contemplating the question Jen B. posed recently: What would you do if you knew you had just twelve months to live? I’m planning to write about this when I return.

In the meantime, be sure to love yourself today, and spread that love in every way you can.

4 thoughts on “Prayers for Jen B.

  1. bella says:

    wow.
    what is it about this line?
    It is has been my music.
    joining you is surrounding Jen B. with love, and giving thanks for who she is.
    love to you.

    Like

  2. Meg Casey says:

    Amen sisters amen.
    This is a beautiful description of Jen’s battle Jena–Thank you. Our combined love and support will shepherd her to some peaceful and healing shores.
    xo
    m

    Like

  3. Anonymous says:

    Jena, I went to Jen’s site…

    once I’m done crying for her and her son, and for all the other sick mothers who battle with terminal cancer and still stand, I’m going to write out my list…

    thank you Jena,
    Lil

    Like

Comment

