Half-Dreams


What was it again I thought was so important before I got some sleep?
What was it again I thought was so pressing?
What was it again that felt so urgent?
What was it again I had to remember to do RIGHT AWAY?
What was it again I repeated to myself over and over so as not to forget?
What was it again I thought was so brilliant?
What was it again I thought the whole world hinged on happening?
What was it again couldn’t wait another day?
What was it again I was losing sleep over?
What was it again I was anxious about?
What was it again I was excited about?
What was it again that filled me with remorse or longing?
What was it again I imagined in technicolor and surround sound as her breathing slowed?
What was it again I was going to do?
What was it again I was going to say?
What was it again I was going to write?
What was it again I was going to be?
What was it again would set it all right?
What was it again my mother told me?
Be gentle with yourself, she would say, as she stroked my hair, as my breathing slowed to half-dreams.

Posted in: Uncategorized

5 thoughts on “Half-Dreams

  1. Shawn says:

    Oh, boy I love this! I think this so often in a day … what was it, again? For that single minute, that ONE thing is so important. Then, it’s not … just like that. I’m here with you completely.

    Happy week!

    Like

Comment

