Undone and Halfway

Piles of laundry all over the house, half-folded, half-not.
Dishes undone from breakfast, sticky drippy spilled cemented.
Bills strewn across my desk, an attempt to be organized and timely.
Smell of fresh tar wafts in from outside.
Hair three-days away from dreads. (No wonder I went crazy over Aviva’s tangles this morning, causing her to cry and scream, wondering what the hell other tools are out there for dealing with hair and daughters and my own limitations as a parent.)
Last night’s apple crisp sits on the counter, half-covered, more like apple mush now.
Sheets and blankets a mess after a night of musical beds and compromised sleep.
Fridge crowded with little plastic containers filled with random half-eaten meals.
Undone. Unmade. Unfolded. Unbrushed. Unpaid.
Ideas half-baked. Half-eaten. Half-slept. Half-washed. Halfway to half-finished.
Hafta turn off the computer. Turn up the music. And surprise myself with how much can change in the next thirty minutes.

Posted in: Uncategorized

11 thoughts on “Undone and Halfway

  1. Karen Maezen Miller says:

    I’m going to take your advice!! But first, mine: if I could floss my daughter’s hair nightly I would, but instead I insist, whine, cajole and enforce hair brushing before bed so the tangles don’t entangle us in the morning. (Detangle spray helps.)

    Like

  2. Meg Casey says:

    And to think I was going to get on your blog to leave a comment on your last post that today I feel like the only one who is half-done, half-baked, half tangled up in blues. Thirty minutes of dancing with the music turned up does it for me every time!
    xo Meg

    Like

  3. Meg Casey says:

    And to think I was going to get on your blog to leave a comment on your last post that today I feel like the only one who is half-done, half-baked, half tangled up in blues. Thirty minutes of dancing with the music turned up does it for me every time!
    xo Meg

    Like

  4. Rowena says:

    It’s true. A few minutes dedicated to something really does make a difference, especially in our mindset.

    15 minutes is my timetable, usually.

    Like

  5. GailNHB says:

    I like the 15 minute block of time. In 15 minutes, I can clean most of the rooms in my house (one room per 15 minutes), drink a cup of tea, lift weights, do some journaling – and do a better job than I used to think was possible in 30 minutes! My motto for cleaning and vacuuming and dusting and lots of other things is my life is this: “It ain’t perfect, but it’s definitely better.” That always makes me smile!

    Like

  6. Beth P. says:

    you trickster you.

    I borrowed your flag-unraveling for my front page on the Virtual Tea House. Hope that’s ok. Let me know if it ain’!

    Like

Comment

