A New Day

It’s a new day.

This idea of change, that change is possible, that hope is worthwhile, that each and every one of our voices counts – I find myself still very much immersed in all of this. Less than one week after that momentous evening, nervously watching the returns come in, until that moment, California polls closed, and that was it, we tipped the scales on a new day. “America is a place where all things are possible.”

I’ve been thinking of creating a new flyer for Strong Coaching, something like “Yes YOU can.” There are no more excuses here, no more victims, no enemy, no one to blame. We have spoken. We have chosen. We have joined hands and voices and visions.

It’s a new day.

Are you ready to get out of your own way?

It’s a new day. And I’m short on words, dear readers. More will come soon, but right now, as I turn inward, Stanley Kunitz and will.i.am speak for me, for all of us. UNITY. You and me together.

The Round

Light splashed this morning
on the shell-pink anemones
swaying on their tall stems;
down blue-spiked veronica
light flowed in rivulets
over the humps of the honeybees;
this morning I saw light kiss
the silk of the roses
in their second flowering,
my late bloomers
flushed with their brandy.
A curious gladness shook me.
So I have shut the doors of my house,
so I have trudged downstairs to my cell,
so I am sitting in semi-dark
hunched over my desk
with nothing for a view
to tempt me
but a bloated compost heap,
steamy old stinkpile,
under my window;
and I pick my notebook up
and I start to read aloud
the still-wet words I scribbled
on the blotted page:
“Light splashed . . .”

I can scarcely wait till tomorrow
when a new life begins for me,
as it does each day,
as it does each day.

~ Stanley Kunitz

4 thoughts on “A New Day

  1. Shalet says:

    I think the spirit of this election has altered my thinking too. I am very much ready for a change. And as such I’ve begun baby steps to alter my life. Hope. I am full of hope.

    Like

  2. Meg Casey says:

    I have been in shock myself for several days and the reality of what happened last week has just started to wash over me. It has changed me too–and opened me up to the great wide possibility that maybe things can change in this country!

    Like

  3. Lisa says:

    Fabulous post! I really needed to read and listen to this today.

    I have definitely felt a shift in my own energy. Now, for me, the challenge is to capitalize on that and stay away, away, away from those who do not share my vision, hopes, dreams. (Including the gremlin in my head!)

    Thank you for continuing to kindle this good energy and hope for a new world :-)

    Like

Comment

