No coincidences

Not 24 hours after writing about my impulse to get quieter, to draw closer in to home, I received an early-morning phone call and learned that the poet Deborah Digges died a week ago today. Deborah was my teacher in a way I can’t even begin to write about yet. I loved her. I am grieving, and the internet is not where to do that, not now. But I wanted you to hear her beautiful voice. She gave this reading just a month ago.

some strange Race/Wrecked, solitary, here-

February 6, 1950 – April 10, 2009

8 thoughts on “No coincidences

  1. GailNHB says:

    I continue to grieve for you, dear Jena. I hope and pray that you will continue to find ways to remember her well and to grieve as you need to.

    Peace to you.
    Peace.

    Like

  2. Beth P. says:

    Dear one–
    What a lovely tribute to a marvelous poet. It was her swan song.

    Maybe, just maybe, she was done, no more to do.

    Thank you for this–

    Like

Comment

