Morning Practice, 6:34am

Morning practice, 6:34
fridge humming
birdsong in cold June trees
yesterday’s coffee lukewarm
stillness
an iris Aviva picked bends its ear
towards her desk

I keep feeling thirsty for something
that pool of tears
at the end of a hike
where the view opens up
and you can plunk down on a sun-warmed rock
heart still beating hard
from the climb

You can sit down and cry a little
and then not even need to cry
simply arrive
take in the beauty
of your surroundings
knowing, as Walt reminded me via Wendy this morning,
I exist as I am, that is enough

There might come a morning
when I no longer require this reminder
when I no longer compare
or quibble or squabble or quarrel
or concern myself
with the stuff of nature’s passing

In the meantime,
I will take this line
live it as best I can
write it on a mirror I walk around with all day
hold it up to you
hold it up to the beauty that is you
as you are
then hand it to you
as an offering
to keep or pass along
as you move through your day

Posted in: Uncategorized

5 thoughts on “Morning Practice, 6:34am

  1. Jen Ballantyne says:

    Dear Jena, just popping by to say thank you so much for your support and love, it is valued highly. Love your writing by the way and that photo made me breathe just a bit deeper. Hugs, J xxx

    Like

Comment

