That Other Keyboard

I sit at the keyboard, waiting for words that don’t come. No academic words or legal words, no poetic words or pragmatic words, nothing insightful or inciteful. Just no words, no movement.

I sit there, then realize it is the other keyboard I need, the one where I can feel my way into myself without words, without explanation. I don’t spend much time these days at those other keys, that unlock something words sometimes can’t.

Moving from symbol to sound, something settles. It is a relief, this feeling. It is a relief not to have words, to let my fingers find these other notes, to tell the story a different way, without having to say a thing.

5 thoughts on “That Other Keyboard

  1. The Other Laura says:

    I love that big deep breath you take right at the beginning. I could just feel you letting go.

    Thanks for sharing this.

    Like

  2. Lisa says:

    This is beautiful beyond description.

    It brought tears to my eyes, literally. A sense of *missing you* welled up in my heart. A feeling of wanting to come and sit in that very room and listen as you play.

    "Let the beauty we love be what we do." by Rumi came to mind as well.

    I'm getting up from this chair right now to go play my dusty piano keys!

    {{THANK YOU}}

    Like

Comment

