Getting Ready


I’m appreciating my sisters tonight, and this train we’re riding, each of us looking for freedom and joy, spreading it where we can, receiving and reaching out, searching, sometimes scrambling, but most of all, most amazingly, appreciating and supporting each other as we go. I’m getting ready. I’m just still figuring out what for exactly. Big or small, no matter really. I’m just glad my sisters – and my soulsisters – are getting ready, too.

Don’t need no baggage, you just get on board. Don’t need to know, just have faith, take a window seat, and let someone else drive while you dream. Your mind wandering, your heart aching, tears streaming you don’t even know why. The landscape flees past you, all those moments, so full you could burst. And even if you’re not sure you believe, it’s okay; you don’t need no ticket – you just thank the lord.

In honor of my one sister, who feels in music and speaks with images, who introduced me to Eva Cassidy, and who is so, so brave. And in honor of my other sister, whose privacy I now respect (even if I didn’t when i raided her closet in the late ’80s).

Faith is the key
Open the doors and board them
There’s room for all
Among the loved and lost

6 thoughts on “Getting Ready

  1. Lahdeedah says:

    Jena.

    This post, while listening to Eva Cassidy sing this powerful song, is exactly what I needed to read/hear tonight.

    You have this unusual ability to post for me, and me alone :)

    xo

    Jill

    PS: Listen to Eva Cassidy’s Songbird. Heartbreakingly gorgeous.

    Like

  2. Lisa says:

    Oh, I SO needed this today.

    THANK YOU!!!

    Whatever ‘it’ is for me is close, very close.

    Most days I cry at least once. And it feels like, at any time now, I will open my mouth and something ALIVE WITH A VOICE ALL ITS OWN (which is really probably MY true voice!) will cry it into existence.

    I’m SO ready to board this train!!!

    Like

Comment

