All the World is a Very Narrow Bridge

There was this moment
when I saw so clearly
how it had come
to this
when I saw so clearly
the path behind me
that led to this moment

This home, these children
coffee in a glass mug
music, mismatched
dishes, tealights burning
pictures of the ones we lost
and pictures of the ones we found
moments celebrated
and mourned
ashes waiting
to be buried in the cold November ground

When I looked up
after we spoke
about the journey
from one place to another
I saw it so clearly
how this was the place
this was the moment
all of those other moments bled into
like little trickles
leading to the great mother river

I hung up the phone
and walked out into the room
where two little girls, sisters,
were playing
my girls, each other’s sisters

For this brilliant moment
I could see clearly
the no-accidents, no-mistakes, nothing-wasted
wholeness of a life
this one here
this one now

It’s not over
but what’s beginning is something else
I can’t yet see
there are moments yet to happen
dreams undreamed
names unnamed
hints in the way numbers fall together
and connections come apart
glimpses in the way our feet touch in bed
in the way they snuggle up
on the couch
after fighting
glimpses in the pulse that picks up
then steadies when rightness clicks into place
and I am filled with knowing
the way we are filled with light
when we’re not busy wondering why
or how

There’s a blue light
a little bulb between my eyes
this sweet guide
that remembers everything
that has ever happened
and on the shiver of shape that wraps me
like a prayer
the moments are imprinted

Walking alone across the Brooklyn Bridge
Kissing a stranger on the Charles Bridge
Driving across the Connecticut River
Going home, home, home
Crossing the blue bridge that brings me home

Kol ha’olam kulo
ze gesher tzar me’od
Veha’ikar – veha’ikar
lo lefached – lo lefached klal.

All the world
is a very narrow bridge
and the main thing
is not to be afraid.

~ Rabbi Nachman of Bratslov

Don’t look down, my love
Just take my hand
and keep walking.

Posted in: Uncategorized

6 thoughts on “All the World is a Very Narrow Bridge

  1. Mom says:

    What a beautiful poem and video!

    Did you know the color associated with ajna, third eye chakra – intuition and inspiration – is violet? Blue – vishudda – throat – communication

    Like

  2. Jenna/The Word Cellar says:

    I don’t know what I love more: this beautiful poem or your parents’ sweet comments. :)

    This stanza particularly has gotten into my soul and won’t let go:

    There’s a blue light
    a little bulb between my eyes
    this sweet guide
    that remembers everything
    that has ever happened
    and on the shiver of shape that wraps me
    like a prayer
    the moments are imprinted

    Like

Comment

