Blue Moon Blessings for 2010

“It’s hopeless!” Aviva cries from the backseat.

“What –- the tooth situation?” I ask.

“Yeah,” she answers.

We’re on our way home from the grocery store, and V is intently chomping an apple in hopes of getting her wiggly front tooth to come out.

“Don’t lose hope, V. Then you’ll have nothing!” I say this with obvious drama. Then she surprises me, but not really. Her response is classic Aviva.

“That’s not true, Mama. I’ll still have love.”

Of course, I take her invitation and jump right into the game. “Without love, then you’ll have nothing!” My response is more emphatic this time, with a slight Russian accent. Or is it Yiddish?

“Then I’ll have faith.”

“But without faith — nothing!” I say.

“Yeah –- I’ll have braveness.”

“Ah! But without courage –- nothing!”

“Uh-huh,” she says. “I’ll have strongness!”

“Without strength, you’ll have nothing!”

I look at her in the rearview mirror, flexing her muscles.

“That’s true. Then I’ll have nothing.”

**

When you’re discouraged, may you have hope.

When you’re lonely, may you have love.

When you’re doubtful, may you have faith.

When you’re fearful, may you have braveness.

When you’re waning, may you have strongness.

When you’re overwhelmed, when there are simply too many balls in the air, too many thoughts in your head, too much to figure out, to manage, to plan or prepare for, when you feel like falling apart and wish you could skate away, then may you have nothing.

And when you have nothing, may you see clearly the true situation of your life, your heart, the innate beauty and wholeness of being just as you are today.

**

Happy New Year, with big love and gratitude.

14 thoughts on “Blue Moon Blessings for 2010

  1. Janice says:

    Did you write this just for me? Because it sure seems like it…. I’ve done my best to skate away this week but the overwhelm is starting to creep in again….I’m asking for nothing for my birthday :-)

    Happy new year, dearest friend!

    Like

  2. Mom says:

    Leave it to Aviva! And leave it to you to jump right in and help her along. And here’s to the tooth fairy! May she leave a shiny coin for that loose front tooth.

    Like

  3. GailNHB says:

    Happy new year to you, Jena. Thanks for reminding me of all that I do have, even when it feels like I have nothing. Perhaps even more so when I feel like I have nothing. I have everything I need. Everything.

    Like

  4. Holly says:

    Jena, lovely imagery as the new year begins. Gratitude for your words your writing and your vignettes of living fully.
    with light and wholeness to you and your family…

    Like

Comment

