Because sometimes a girl has to go collect nectar

Collecting Honey, from the Dhammapada

As the bee collects nectar
without injuring the flower,
so should you move through life.

Watch your actions,
learn about yourself
and don’t compare
your ways with others.

The words of those who are unaware
are like withered flowers.
They are faded and have no scent.

**

I’m unplugging for a week to do some solo nectar collecting. It’s a big leap, to be taking this kind of time to be alone, to trust life to carry on without me, to trust work to be here when I return, to trust that I can leave and let go and enjoy my own company.

Before kids, before marriage, there were many such times. How to weave the pieces together? By doing. By trusting. By letting go of resistance and guilt and gremlins and so-many-reasons why not to go. I can be so hard on myself. I have been a crazy lady all week getting our lives ready for my absence. Taking extra deep delicious breaths of my girls’ scents, anything but withered, anything but faded.

And I know, once I step out in the pre-dawn darkness tomorrow, not comparing my ways to the ways of others, not judging or fearing, that collecting honey, giving myself this gift of time alone, is a way of coming back into my life with more presence, more sweetness to offer, less injury.

**

Wishing you moments of honeyed bliss and gentle learning. See you in a week.

15 thoughts on “Because sometimes a girl has to go collect nectar

  1. Janice says:

    Go and don’t look back, only forward. You are giving your girls a wonderful gift – an example of how to take care of the world by taking care of yourself :-)

    Like

  2. g says:

    We’ll miss you sweetness — but we’re so happy that you’re making this gift to yourself. We’re proud of you, amazed by your light, and grateful for your presence in our lives. And we might even have fun while you’re gone!

    Like

  3. Renae C says:

    “And I know, once I step out in the pre-dawn darkness tomorrow, not comparing my ways to the ways of others, not judging or fearing, that collecting honey, giving myself this gift of time alone, is a way of coming back into my life with more presence, more sweetness to offer, less injury.”

    YES!!! Go in peace. Trust they will all be okay. Take your time. This is the living out loud they have to see in order to know how to do it for themselves. You will all be richer for nectar you gather while you are gone. Traveling mercies and grace in your gathering.

    Like

Comment

