11:11

I glance at the clock and see that it’s 11:11. My birth time (a.m.). For years and years, I have noticed the clock just at that minute. Eleven. Eleven. I found a book once, by accident – if you believe in accidents. I had wandered into Spirit Dancer one evening. This was before Pearl was born, when Greg, Aviva and I still lived just a few blocks from downtown Burlington. The two of them were having a “date night,” and I was on my own. I remember feeling a little lost, melancholic. I drifted into that new-age bookstore, not sure what I was looking for. In the back of the store, where the books are, I spotted that title: 11:11. The author, simply “Solara.”

For the first time just now, I looked at her website. (Actually, I have no way of knowing if Solara is female, or male, or even human… but somehow I imagine a woman.)

She (or who/whatever) writes:

Millions of people have one thing in common; they keep seeing the numbers 11:11. These people come from all countries, all races, walks of life, and levels of awareness.

Even schoolchildren have a knowing that when they see 11:11, it’s time to make a wish.

At first, it seems like a mere coincidence; then it becomes uncanny. “I started up my car at exactly 11:11.” “Why do I always wake up at 11:11?”

Finally, it becomes undeniable: “All my clocks froze at 11:11.”

Something very strange IS indeed happening.

In the book, “How to LIVE LARGE on a Small Planet”, Solara states:

“Something IS happening and it’s more real than any of us can imagine.”

A Greater Reality is being inserted into our everyday lives. The earthworm finally looks up to the stars and is forever transformed. A merger is taking place between our vast cosmic Selves and our physical bodies. This transforms our DNA and allows us to finally become vibrantly alive and totally real.

The next time you see the 11:11, stop and feel the subtle energies around you. The 11:11 is a wake-up call you sent to yourself. A reminder of your true purpose here on Earth.

Usually during times of heightened energy or accelerated personal change you will notice the 11:11 more frequently.

Seeing the Master Numbers 11:11 is ALWAYS a confirmation that you are on the right track.

The books still mystifies me, truth be told. Of course I bought it that evening, took it as a sign. Of what exactly, I didn’t know. But of something, an affirmation that I should continue to trust my path as it unfolded. Which – and you know this if you have been reading this blog for any length of time – I’ve been doing my damnedest to honor with integrity and courage and faith.

Recently, I’ve begun sorting through my books, the ones that have been on shelves and in boxes in the basement. Greg and I gave a few big bins’ worth away after our recent yard sale, and I took that opportunity to start reconnecting with dozens of books I’ve missed having upstairs in the daily flow of our lives. And there it was again. 11:11.

Well over three years ago, not long after I began this blog, I wrote a post called Welcome to a Mixed-Up World, about the telegram my Great Uncle Sam wrote to me when I was a month old. I wrote about the illusion of safety. About the car accident I survived, miraculously, when I was seventeen. I wrote these words:

What will “people” think if you are really yourself? What is your “real” self? Whose opinions matter? How will you be received if you speak your truth? What is the elephant in the room?

Today, I sit here at my desk, home after a few days of intense reflection. I open the Solara book for the first time since I bought it that night in 2003 or 2004.

“The 11:11 is the bridge to an entirely different spiral of evolution.” Dude. I have no idea what that even means, except that I do. Flipping through the pages, chapters, and diagrams in this book confounds me. It is metaphysical on a level my small-m mind cannot comprehend. And I will likely shelve it again after I finish this post. But there is some reason it called me this morning, some reminder I’m needing to heed about my own life purpose and its origins at this very time, this 11:11, these gates, this portal, this open door. Solara writes:

For those of us who choose this path, we must be prepared to surrender our beings to utterly new forms of living and loving.

Again, my first thought, a profound response: Dude!

Time to close the book again. Time to close my eyes and not try to understand everything. Time to settle in deep, to just feel, in my own bones, on the surface of my skin, the small of my back, the nape of my neck, the crown of my head and the bottoms of my feet, what it is to be fully alive in this moment. What it is to surrender.

To surrender. I return to a post by that very name, from last summer:

I am just this minute noticing the almost neon color of the flowers in our garden. If only I knew their names. They well might know mine. I might not even need a name at all.

And with that, I surrender. The overwhelm. The uncertainty. The optimism and the fear. The reacting and the letting go. The hope. The rage. The leavings and the takings, the comings and the goings. All of it.

Look at me, sitting here at the table, eyes open, face slack, arms up, unarmed. I come in peace, with nothing to give but this, this being here, this sitting in a blue chair, this not knowing, not knowing a thing.

And then. Suddenly. The way a bird swoops and darts, I get it. This moment, what I can see, all the turmoil within me and my incongruously peaceful surroundings, there is nothing to get. I could be the tree branch of a red maple tree, I could be that bird, that child who isn’t mine streaking across the backyard. I could be a pulse, a bear cub, a plane engine.

I release the tension in my jaw. Go easy, girl. Go easy on yourself.

Staying present in the midst of transformation is not easy, but it is possible. We may think it will be easier to bolt, to bail, to pull the plug, to move on quickly, to avoid pain, to “get it over with.” But it won’t be, not in the long run. How things are in the future will simply be a direct evolution of what we do now, today, day to day, hour to hour, every single decision an opportunity to reconnect with ourselves, our best selves, our truest selves. I’m writing in the first-person plural all of a sudden. Just going with it.

Go easy, girl. I tell myself again. Be strong. Stand before the gates, the open door, no need to lunge through it nor resist it. Feel the ground beneath your feet. Notice the constant, subtle movement all around. Trust this. Let things unfold.

Next time you see the clock at 11:11, make a wish. Send me some of your strength and I’ll do the same, right back atcha. A reminder of your true purpose here on Earth.

Dude.

9 thoughts on “11:11

  1. janice says:

    Dude. I needed this. Today of all days. This hour of all hours. “Trust this. Let things unfold.” I hear you from a place far beyond this little room where I sit. From your soul to mine. The 11:11 is a bridge. Indeed. And I know you know what I mean…. :-)

    Like

  2. Meg says:

    Jena-I am an 11:11 kind of girl myself. I notice it ALL the time. I always thought that it was my guardian angel playing peekaboo with me. Right there with you on the whole being present during transformation–its as though you have been reading my mind. peace to you

    Like

  3. Helen says:

    After being in a mental desert for some time and NOT noticing 11:11, I noticed it twice yesterday and felt the usual wonder of it. This morning I find your post and my soul is smiling. Did not know about, and did not think to make a wish, but will do from now on. I am in the process of starting a blog and feeling excited about it! Your blog is wonder~full. Blessed be, helen

    Like

  4. Sari Brown says:

    Jena,

    I don’t know you, but your friend Re reccommended I read this blog, since we have shared how we have a special connection to 11:11 before. This is amazing. And your writing is beautiful. It describes exactly what I experience with 11:11. Except I never make a wish, even though people sometimes suggest I do when I excitedly announce, “Look! It’s 11:11.” (Sort of like glancing out the window to see a huge, beautiful, orange harvest moon, and saying, “Look! Look at the moon!”) But I’ve never wanted to make a wish, because for me the gift of seeing 11:11 is enough. I guess I’ve always seen it as something to remind me of what I need to give, of the mission I need to carry out in this lifetime, and not a way to get what I want. But at the same time, I suppose every time I see it and nod my head at God, saying, “Yes, I know, I’ve got a lot to do, a lot of love to spread and a lot of beauty to create,” that in itself is a wish that I may be a part of something beyond my own understanding, a part of some mystery that 11:11 deviously hides behind its four simple lines, that I don’t really have to understand in order to participate in its beautiful unfolding.

    Thank you so much for sharing. Even though I don’t know you, I want to send you love and hugs from La Paz, Bolivia, and I hope that this “Greater Reality” that has been inserted into our lives with the advent of digital clocks and their captivating 11:11’s can unite all of us in our life-missions across the world.

    Like

  5. Lisa says:

    Great post! Thanks for writing on this topic.

    I, too, have had increased number sightings over the past few years, including 11:11. It’s just downright comical at times!

    SO glad you’re open to the transformation. What a wild ride it can be. You are a beautiful fellow traveler.

    Namaste’

    Like

  6. Lisa says:

    Just writing to say I’ve had MORE 11:11 encounters this past week: The clock, the laptop, mile markers on the highway today, the DJ telling us the time on the radio (at just the same time we passed the 11 mile marker!), finding a yoga Sutra I liked and seeing it was Sutra 11:11, and, when mentioning said Sutra in my class last night ~ having an attendee tell me their wedding anniversary is Nov. 11th.!!!!!

    Like

Comment

