Why I Run

Running after work today
I surprised myself with how much energy I had
how fast I could go
I turned the music up
and felt my feet pound the asphalt
not fleeing, more like flying
past a fleet of small sailboats
up a steep hill
through the densest neighborhoods in town
the pedestrian mall
headphones tucked snug in my ears
Vertigo turned up high
powerful and strong, imperviously
waiting on a street corner
next to fathers and mothers,
students and strollers
down the hill back to the lake
to this song and those whitecaps, rough
November near, shafts of sunlight
streaming
as if on cue
from a cut-out hole in the moody
sky I raised my hands
placed them on my head
wanted to write but
bowed my head
to the wind and
finally
cried

Posted in: Uncategorized

2 thoughts on “Why I Run

Comment

