I’m beginning to see

What you don’t have to do: let go. Hold on. Work through, process, or come to terms. Understand why. Know what it means. Figure out how. Give up. Keep trying. Sort things out. Prove your point. See in the dark. Lighten up. Worry, plan, doubt, or wonder.

You only have to see a string of lights hanging in a taco shop and think, “Yes, I would like to take her there for margaritas. Soon.” To dream of the ocean. To receive little love notes from your children first thing in the morning, and hang them on the fridge. To answer the phone when it rings. To heed the call when it comes. To walk. To show up. Everything happens right on time. There can be no other way.

We talk about “living simply” as if it were about the stuff we have or what’s on our calendars. I am beginning to see that living simply simply means being here, not dreaming about a there I will otherwise never reach.

We speak of “flow” as if it’s something we can get good at — implying that we are not yet good and have to work harder at making things easier. I am beginning to see that flow is what naturally occurs in the absence of force.

We refer to “mindfulness” as a preferred way of life. I am beginning to see that it is not something I have to cultivate. It is peeling a clementine, taking out the garbage, scooping the litter, hearing a child’s disappointment and not rushing in to fix it, feeling feelings without strangling them with stories, before and after.

Thinking gets me in trouble. I am beginning to see, though, that being… is surprisingly easy. All by itself.

12 thoughts on “I’m beginning to see

  1. Murray Schwartz says:

    “…flow is what naturally occurs in the absence of force.” Brilliant, as is the whole. Wu wei: the action of no action.

    Like

  2. Maya says:

    You. Are. A. Very. Smart. Woman.
    Thank you so much for this. Things find us when we need to hear them most. This felt like a prayer to me, a sweet breath in my ear, telling me it’s all going to be okay.

    Like

  3. Rene says:

    With two children, two jobs, a dog, a husband, a house, and feeling behind on so many levels….I think I’m going to stop trying to “make it all work”. THANK YOU. I really needed to hear this. I’m going to read it again, now!

    Like

Comment

