Born Ready

Last night, Pearl tried Taekwondo for the first time. She loved it, and watching her and the other 5-7 year-olds was simply awesome.

At the beginning of the class, the teacher showed the kids the ready stance. He spoke about readiness. What it means. Why it matters. Eyes forward. Feet planted. And no thinking. If you’re thinking, he said, you’re not ready, because then when something happens–and you never know what will happen–you will have to stop thinking about whatever you’re thinking about in order to respond. “Yes, sir!” they responded, their little fists at their sides on the exhale.

A simple teaching. I sat on the corner of the mat, watching and nodding.

Sometimes we wait a long time thinking. There’s a good chance what we’re thinking is, “I’m not ready.”

And then we prepare. Inhale. Acknowledge the teacher, who in turn acknowledges the students–they need each other, or there would be no class, he pointed out.

I waited a long time, fidgeting, distracted, restless, questioning. My teacher waited patiently, unfazed, knowing I’d eventually realize I was ready to stand at attention, my innate ability to respond to whatever happened surely stronger than my self-doubt, fear of failure, and terror of loss.

And then the freedom of running fast across the room, from one wall to the other, the sheer pleasure of receiving instruction and assistance, the satisfaction of learning, of stumbling, of trying new things, of remembering left from right, foot from fist, abandoning self-consciousness and leaving perfection in the dust of just doing.

Being ready–like coming out, like waking up–is a practice. Something we do at the beginning of class, at the beginning of the day, at the beginning of our lives, and then throughout them.

“I was born ready,” I’ve heard people say. And I believe them.

5 thoughts on “Born Ready

  1. krfretty says:

    Jena! Been wanting to talk to you about this exact thing…Ready or not, life is unfolding according to its own design. I can fight the current or let it carry me, and when I do find my way into the center of the stream, the question of readiness simply dissolves. Buying your book today — I want a signed copy but I’m waiting until you can sign it in person over a tasty drink and a long conversation.

    Like

  2. Veronika says:

    I received much the same message as a seven-year old in a karate class. It’s amazing how easily we forget how to take what comes in life and respond without over-thinking it. In practices like martial arts, it is easier to let go of thought, and it is essential. That’s why I think they are so beneficial to kids. Having that behind me and in my present experience has really helped me to overcome the writerly tendency to over analyze. I hope Pearl gets what she seeks out of Taekwondo.

    Like

Comment

