Three is the Magic Number

3-graces-NYC

I am the youngest of three girls, and for years and years, I collected images of three women. The three graces. Today, I looked up the symbolic meaning of the number three and found this:

Three deals with magic, intuition, fecundity, and advantage. Three invokes expression, versatility, and pure joy of creativity. Three is also a time identifier as it represents Past, Present and Future. Consecutive Threes in your life may symbolize the need to express yourself creatively, or consider your present directional path in relation to past events and future goals. Three may also represent promising new adventures, and assurance of cooperation from others whom you may require help. Three typically symbolizes reward and success in most undertakings.

I’ll take it.

My day began with an early-morning phone call from my mother, which felt like a lovely and rather appropriate way to wake up. I went for a run, listened to my girlfriend extemporaneously list 39 things she loves about me (well, 41 actually–like an extra candle or two for good luck), had my first (in a long time) acupuncture appointment, mused in my journal about 2013, and am basking in the multitude of birthday wishes. As my Grammy once said when I asked her if she wanted more dessert, “Yeah, it could be worse!”

Today, I turn 39. And since 3+9=12, and 1+2=3, I’m giving away three copies of “Don’t Miss This” as a gesture of gratitude for reaching this day in one piece.

So, here’s how to play: leave a comment here or on Facebook. If you’re 39 or older, share something you love(d) about this age. If you’re not yet 39, share a memory from when you were 3 or 9 or 12. Tonight, I’ll randomly choose three names and mail off three books!

Thank you for reading, encouraging me, and celebrating with me.

10 thoughts on “Three is the Magic Number

  1. Elizabeth Grant Thomas says:

    I’m not yet 39 (just around the bend, I assure you), but three is an important number for me, too. I grew up in a family of three (no siblings), and the family I’ve created is one of three (not planning on having more children). So, yay three! Happy Birthday to you, Jena. I’d love to win a copy of your book.

    Like

  2. Katrina Kenison says:

    Happy birthday my dear! Thirty-nine, well, I do remember caring so much less what anyone thought of my quirks, and relishing the FULLNESS of being right in the thick of my life, lots of demands on my time and energy, and rising again and again to the challenge of being me. Enjoy your brilliance, the light that is YOU, and shine on!

    Like

  3. Alana says:

    Happy Birthday! It sounds like a wonderful day – particularly the 39 (41) things your girlfriend loves about you. I’m smiling just thinking about how it might feel to really take that in.

    39 – I was coming out of the year from hell, still grieving but starting to feel lighter, and looking forward to a new decade. It was a really good year in so many ways. 29 sent me into a funk. 39 made me dance.

    As for 3’s – I have a family of 3, which feels very strong, after always thinking there would be four of us. I’ve lost 3 pregnancies. My house in LA had three 3’s in the number (3338). My phone number has six 3’s in it, and ends in 3334 . 3 and I are well acquainted. I’ll take it too.

    Like

  4. Mom says:

    I was 39 when we moved to Amherst. Big move for me and the whole family. And here we all are. Something worked! Happy Birthday, dear daughter #3! xooxox, Mom

    Like

  5. ashlee says:

    I am not yet 39. But my earliest memory was around the age of 3. I remember very vividly sitting with my mom and baby sister watching her nurse. It is a warm and loving,memory I carry with me always.
    Happy Birthday…may it be magical.

    Like

Comment

