At Crystal Pier

dolphins

At Crystal Pier, dolphins played
in the crashing waves
My cell phone rang, my daughter
on the other end

I whispered a little prayer
(dolphins are her animal)
to make good on a promise
that someday she’ll swim with them

then sent the ocean a wish
(just another kind of prayer)
for the tides to carry us
to one home, seaside

to go swimming with dolphins
then walking over loose planks
past the taco shops
and the surfer dudes

to sleep close enough to hear
their deep frequencies
riding the night waves
with no distance between us

3 thoughts on “At Crystal Pier

  1. Jen C says:

    I hope for one seaside home for all of you as well. I know what it’s like to have your heart pulling toward her (my her for me, not your her), sometimes it’s bearable and sometime is soul-wrenching. One home, I also long for that. I hope more than anything you get your one home.

    Like

Comment

