Exciting!

photo(174)I slept till 6:15am! This is exciting after getting up before dawn several mornings this past week.

I slept and then I woke up! This is exciting because it means I am still alive.

I have Skype! This is exciting because it meant I was looking at my beautiful fiancée and talking to her about everything under the sun while I ate a bowl of cereal before bed.

She is ready! This is exciting because I am ready, too.

The treetops are blushing red! This is exciting because we all made it through the winter.

My kids have occasional meltdowns! This is exciting because they know they are safe to do so.

My colleagues are warm, smart, funny, supportive people! This is exciting because I do not dread going to work. Enjoy it, in fact.

We are moving again! This is exciting because our new house is a short walk to town and the girls’ school and even some of their new friends’ houses.

Sometimes my finances feel like the Wild West! This is exciting because I remain determined to declare a New Sheriff in Town. One of these days. Really.

I am a writer! This is exciting because there was a time when I didn’t believe it.

This isn’t the post I thought I was going to write! This is exciting because I went with it. Kind of like (you guessed it) life.

I have sisters who make me laugh! This is exciting because we have chosen each other, beyond blood.

My parents’ 50th anniversary is this year! This is exciting because they still love each other, and all of us, and we are all going to celebrate together next winter.

Aviva tried eating octopus at school last week! This is exciting because she is daring, and has friends from other cultures.

You could say life is a whole lot of work, or the weeks blend together. You could say it’s a grind, or it’s overwhelming. You could say you’re crazy busy exHAUSTed. You could say she doesn’t get it, or he always does that, or you’re buried at work or you don’t have time, don’t have time, don’t have money, don’t have room for __________. You could say you don’t know what to do. You could point fingers. You could play games.

Or you could pack a box! You could pack one single box containing the items you wish to bring with you on the next leg of your journey. The keepsakes and mementos, the picture you never framed, the locket of hair, the letter that changed everything. You could leave behind the regret, the bitter, the stuck, the stories. You could prepare. You could begin. You could do it today.

I’m going to do that today! This is exciting because it is. And when I’m finished, I can take a nap! What a life.

5 thoughts on “Exciting!

  1. susa talan says:

    I love this. And I love you. And this is exciting! Because we’ve known each other a long, long time and seen each other through all kinds of boxes and words and moments of change and we’re still sharing.

    Like

  2. shortygetsfit says:

    This is AWESOME! When I am feeling down about things, I say to myself courtesy of Jane Kenyon:
    “I got out of bed on two strong legs. It might have been otherwise.”
    Love to you, Jena. Thanks so for sharing yourself with us.

    Like

Comment

