The Inside of Out

Update! “The Inside of Out” is now available in paperback and on Kindle. To order your copy directly from me, just use the PayPal button at the end of this post.

**

I have something for you. But first, a little story:

Memorial Day Weekend, 2010. My sister and her family came to visit us in Burlington. We cooked out on the deck. The neighbor’s pool opened. We cheered on the marathoners from a friend’s front yard, running in and out of the house for Advil and more dixie cups. We rode bikes to the Farmer’s Market, where it always felt like I knew everyone, and gloried in the abundance of local farms, artists, and kids running around barefoot in the grass. It was a blissful weekend–and we all agreed it was our best visit ever as families.

Before they left, my sister gave me a gift: a key ring shaped like a puzzle piece, engraved with three words that would carry me through the next three years: you are strong.

I would have to be. One week later, on Sunday, June 6–D-Day, indeed–I sat down on the couch and told Greg we had to talk. Life as we knew it ended that night.

If you read “Don’t Miss This,” you know this story. You also know that life went on. Because it does that–until it doesn’t, and perhaps even then.

TheInsideofOutCoverMy second book invites you to join me through a year of peaks, valleys, and many, many ordinary moments of life going on.

Something I posted on Facebook back in March planted the seed:

In 2012, I got laid off, self-published my first book, landed a new job, moved, sold my house, signed divorce papers, and got engaged. One breath, one moment, one day at a time meets 30,000-foot view. Whew.

After nearly fifty people “liked” this status update, I found myself wondering what it was that seemed to resonate so deeply. And then I realized: We all live here, in the spaces between the intimate and the universal, the day-to-day and the Big Picture.

Three years later, it’s nearly Memorial Day Weekend again. And while yes, I am out now, so much of my experience on this trapeze from one life to another has been internal. And mundane. And hard. And amazing. If you are reading this, you are alive, which means you too experience many things at once–seen and unseen, known and unknown, ordinary and magical.

And that is what this new collection of poetry and prose is about.

“The Inside of Out” will be available on Amazon soon–and as a gesture of deep appreciation for the connections borne of this space, I’m taking pre-orders until then.

Simply use the PayPal button below to reserve your copy, and I will mail it to you as soon as it’s published. Books are $14.95 each, plus $5.00 for shipping.

Thank you–in reverse, for being here, and in advance, for reading.

One thought on “The Inside of Out

  1. Krista says:

    Wow, this is great news! I love the title. Can’t wait to read it and make little notes in the margins (nod nod, yes, exactly)

    Like

Comment

