Praise Jesus, Buddha, Mary, and Coffee

This morning, I shared on Facebook a new poem, Tell Me About It.

It was one of those poems that seemed to touch a nerve. You never know when this will happen, and it’s a mystery I have no need to understand.

Today, the poem led to the following exchange, with a woman I’d never heard from before. She’s a 44-year-old mother of four, three of whom have flown the nest. She later shared that she has lost nine people in the last year, not through death but betrayal.

The first thing she wrote was, “I cannot even begin to tell you how your post this morning is touching me in the depths. Way down. I don’t want to longingly wonder another day.”

I responded with my usual awe, if that’s not an oxymoron.

A little while later, she wrote again. “Confession: my 6 year old is upstairs watching TV and eating junk food and I’m drinking too much coffee and reading ‘Tell Me About It’ over and over and over…”

Well, THAT scenario rang a bell. I wrote back to tell her as much.

And then I said I didn’t want to sound sales-y, but pointed out that since she liked that one poem so much, she might enjoy both of my books.

Here’s what she said: “I will absolutely be buying your books. And you don’t sound sales-y…you are real and I fucking love that… I plan to make my new mantra ‘fuck it, this is who I am’.

The amazing thing is I have no idea how you wound up on my Facebook feed bit I’m counting my lucky stairs and praising Jesus, Buddha, Mary and coffee.”

Who knows how any of us finds each other. The magic is that we do. I’ve made no secret of being a writer, and am moved again and again when my words reach someone in a deep place. Praise Jesus, Buddha, Mary, and coffee. (That may have to be my new mantra.)

My writing is a gift to you. The connections it forges come as gifts back to me, every single time, in stunning reciprocity.

If you enjoy dipping into the writing I share on Facebook and my blog, please consider taking the plunge and reading my books, if you haven’t already.

Poems and prose, reflections on everyday life, and big-picture perspectives–all tucked in between my sister’s gorgeous photographs: “Don’t Miss This” and “The Inside of Out” tell some of my stories.

Maybe they tell some of yours, too.

Get a copy for yourself, or for that friend who could use an infusion of Jesus-Buddha-Mary-Coffee courage and faith. Share this post. Then be sure to tell me about it.

It’s this easy. Order here!

3 thoughts on “Praise Jesus, Buddha, Mary, and Coffee

  1. gailnhb says:

    OMJBMC!!! I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this. Especially the phrase: “Praise Jesus, Buddha, Mary, and coffee.” Indeed, dear Jena – finding each other is pure magic, no matter how or when it happens. Thank you for being you and for pouring yourself into our lives the way that you do.

    Like

Comment

