Wash the Pyrex

11150469_10205739259057271_4082274275204429541_n

Photo credit: Monkey on Flickr (click image)

the fence
has a way of reappearing.
has a way of courting me.
has a way of unrelenting.
has a way of beckoning.
another day long ago
when I was someone else
longing to be myself
I’d have said the fence
deterred me, held me in,
back, a symbol of fear.
now the fence is not a symbol.
it is a fence. it is not a barrier.
who am I without barriers?
who am I when I do not scramble
or injure myself.
what if this fence is one I built
not to keep anything out
or protect myself
not to scale these city walls
only to be with you
only to be with you
but one surrounding our room
so that the energy inside
could grow so concentrated
its power would —
what?
losing something here.
maybe a timely loss.
the loss of cramped spaces.
there’s no fence.
there’s no in and no out.
no us and them.
no me and the world.
what if I am the world
and the world is me
and god said here, Jena,
I have given you the capacity
to do great things
with great love
you’ll know you’re doing them
because they will make you tear up
and fall in love with many many many many people and you will no longer even remember that feeling of separateness.
God has nothing to do with fences.
I don’t pay them Any mind. I don’t care if you’re rich and famous or down and out, I want to look in your eyes. I want to listen.
listening to the world’s music
sometimes harmonious and sometimes so confusing and cacophonous I’d cover my ears,
I cover my ears no longer. I cover my eyes no longer. I cover my heart with your hand and I cover your heart with my hand and the beat of this is my guide and what bad could happen if this is how I live?
fear lurks, leftovers I should take a moment to discard. clean out the fridge. wipe the shelves and wash the Pyrex.

**

Today, 6:00am, scrawled, no edits.

7 thoughts on “Wash the Pyrex

  1. Kristi Campbell - findingninee says:

    The concept of being the world and the world being us, rather than being separate from it is incredible and true and powerful and also so so unknown during the many interactions we have daily and yearly and lifely. I’m so glad I read this tonight.

    Like

  2. dhenryb says:

    (what if) there’s no in and out. no us and them. no me and the world. what if I am the world and the world is me…..I cover my ears no longer. I cover my eyes no longer. (now the hearts can be covered…”and no bad can happen”)—all has been settled….all has been said that needs to be said…let us be one………

    Like

Comment

