Life Favors the Deep End

Deep end by Trash Riot

To mark and celebrate the first anniversary of leading writing groups, my next two-week group will consist of the original ten prompts I wrote a year ago this month. There are a few spots left for “What If You Knew?” The dates are November 16-27, though the group itself will remain up the weekend after, since I realize some folks may be busy with family over Thanksgiving.

The best part? There’s no prerequisite, and there’s no way to do it wrong, because it’s just practice. With nice people.

Preparing for this next group has me feeling reflective today. That, and the weather, October’s blazing brilliance having delivered us to a starker kind of beauty, the kind you have to look harder to see.

I never imagined then that this work would evolve into my full-time livelihood, along with growing a beautiful community and hub for people who love to write, The Inky Path​ with a creative powerhouse business partner. (Next week, we’ll be announcing the theme for this year’s Winter Joy Retreat, fourteen days of Joy Letters and end-of-year fun, and I couldn’t be more excited about it. )

But as Steve Jobs famously said, “You can’t connect the dots looking forward; you can only connect them looking backwards.”

And looking back to this time a year ago, here’s what I know: Necessity really can be the mother of all invention. I was longing to re-ignite my own writing practice and creativity, craving deeper connections with kindred spirits in community, and just on this side of desperate to earn some extra cash to supplement my salary and keep us afloat.

Well.

Life has a way of favoring the deep end, doesn’t it? With a mischievous grin or a kind smile or a wink or a bow or all of these combined, it saunters or glides into the room with all kinds of pronouncements.

See? You’ve got this.

You can swim, you can float, you’re surrounded by people who will hold you up when you’re too tired to tread or get scared of the cross-currents, and you can coax others into the waters, too, of showing up and putting words on the page and sharing without making everything pretty and polished first.

Join me.

Grab one of the remaining spots in the November 16-27 group.

If you have a teenage daughter who’s willing and able to spend two weeks on Facebook writing with her mom and some other intrepid mothers and daughters, come sign up for Backtalk: Mothers + Daughters Writing.

Schedule a coaching session and open new doors — creative, personal, and professional.

And leave a comment below to enter a giveaway. One winner will receive signed copies of my two books, Don’t Miss This and The Inside of Out, both of which chronicle some of the “before” years in poetry and prose. I’ll draw a name at random on Sunday, November 15.

Thank you. For reading, for writing, for being, for sharing this crazy swim with me.

3 thoughts on “Life Favors the Deep End

  1. Lisa Sorensen says:

    Jena, I’m smiling after reading this:
    Life has a way of favoring the deep end, doesn’t it? With a mischievous grin or a kind smile or a wink or a bow or all of these combined, it saunters or glides into the room with all kinds of pronouncements.

    See? You’ve got this.

    Thank you for this reminder. This weekend was a day of euphoria followed by an anxious, dark one for me. And so often I don’t feel that I can handle the currents and the tide and the depth of life–yet, then as you put it so eloquently, things do work out.

    I’m glad that you ventured into the deep end this year and created community that I have gotten to be a part of. I’m mucho grateful! smiles and xo

    Liked by 1 person

Comment

