“the most amazing writers on the planet”

Hector_Laborde

Photo : Hector Laborde

Since early, I’ve been thinking: last day
of April, a month that brought snow
that killed the magnolias and a month
that brought poems that brought tulips
and leafy greens and jeans + a t-shirt,
a heartbeat steadier somehow, more
true than before in that way only poets
seem to be able to say well — and how
in moments like this of reflection, I think
I’m no poet but stand in awe of those
who can go to the depths and come back
with news, with eroded treasures, reports
of the disappeared, our shadow selves
who built whole cities in caves far beneath
the shimmering surface of things where
the sun deflects its own light, leaving us
standing there with hands shielding eyes,
looking to each other for confirmation
that yes: We were really here, together.

**

My first-ever “Dive Into Poetry” group concludes this weekend. I can honestly say it exceeded any expectations I might have had (I try not to have any, but you know, there’s always that little bit of human hope and fear mixed together, with each new thing I put out there).

Who joined in? People who didn’t know they were poets who are definitely poets. People who were intimidated by writing (and sharing) poetry and discovered the freedom of practice. A vibe of warmth, generosity, and discovery permeated the whole month.

Here are some snippets from participants over the past day or two, as we say our goodbyes till next time.

“allowed me to begin”
“nourished my life”
“helped me to break through”
“a privilege and pleasure”
“eloquent and sensitive feedback”
“wonderful, sacred space”
“surprisingly comfortable”
“enriched my life with such beauty”
“beautiful community”
“a gift”
“more than I ever hoped for”
“the most amazing writers on the planet”
“saved my life”
“best four consecutive weeks in a row, ever”

And because we couldn’t possibly wait a whole year for the next National Poetry Month, I decided to make “Dive Into Poetry” a quarterly thing.

The next month-long poetry party will go down this summer, still for just $28.

Details + registration.

2 thoughts on ““the most amazing writers on the planet”

  1. daniel says:

    It was an amazing experience, Jena. to be able to learn how to write poems with others also struggling or those with great talent yet always interactive, supportive and non-intrusively helpful. I hadn’t experienced this before in the 2 or 3 poetry groups I tried and the books on how to write poems I read. This time the community of others made it so much better. And I thank you so much for convening this, keeping it going, participating so fully, and the wonderful offer to do 3 more this year. A real opportunity to learn together!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. sueannkatherine says:

    So beautiful. All of it. This poem, the Dive into Poetry experience, your generosity, the generosity of each and every member of that group. All of it. I’m savoring this piece especially:

    “the sun deflects its own light, leaving us
    standing there with hands shielding eyes,
    looking to each other for confirmation
    that yes: We were really here, together.”

    Tears. Good tears. Your words have that effect on me. xxoo

    Like

Comment

