The Roar Sessions: A Good Week to Start

Do you follow The Roar Sessions, the weekly series of guest posts by women of diverse voices and backgrounds? This would be a good week to start.

Today’s guest is Cristina Spencer, whose piece I’m Not Really a Waitress begins with a big fuck you to Donald Trump.

cristina-spencer2

Before leaving for New York City I decided to go to the nail salon on a whim.  The salon staff moved in short dashes from here to there, bustling through space in their black uniforms.  I turned toward the wall of polishes and for the first time in the sixteen years I’ve been married, I was struck by the urge for red.  I considered the rows of tiny bottles, colorful and perfectly uniform like a kick line of Rockettes from Radio City, and picked up a bottle of shimmering garnet.  The name of the color was “I’m Not Really a Waitress,” which seemed to suggest a rouse or a mystery—the woman associated with this color was more than she appeared.  I brushed a small swatch of it on my thumb, admired how it contrasted with my pale skin, and made my decision.

A few days later, a photograph of these nails appeared on the internet.  It was late at night and they were giving Trump Tower the finger.  The caption read: Trump’s Tower, Cristina’s finger.  Within an hour or so, the image had generated as many likes and comments as anything I ever posted on Facebook, but still a backwash of nerves and shame at having posted an image so lacking in decorum convinced me to pull it.

This is the story of the woman who pulled that image, told by the woman who put it back up online. 

Continue reading here. And be sure to “follow” The Roar Sessions to receive a new post every Monday morning (just scroll down to the bottom of the page to sign up). And if you’re ready to roar, please consider submitting your words.

Comment

