20/30 Poems in November: Vow

photo-1477737978268-6ad68e8033c0I will not bicker or squabble.

I will stay focused on the work.

I will ease suffering where I can.

I will not participate in in-fighting.

I will not question those in need.

I will turn my pockets inside out.

I will not tolerate mere tolerance.

I will examine my own limitations.

I will listen to you when you hurt.

I promise not to leave the room.

I will let my anger be an arrow.

And justice be my target.

And love be my fire.

And fire be my words.

And words be my actions.

And actions be my life.

20/30

**

Q: What is #30poemsinnovember?

A: A literary fundraiser for Center for New Americans in Northampton, MA.

The Center for New Americans welcomes and serves immigrants in Western Massachusetts with free English classes and a range of support services. Participating poets aim to raise $30,000 over the course of the month.

Writers do their part by writing one poem each day in November. Friends and family do their part by donating to support this effort. Powerful new poems and financial contributions translate to community support for immigrants.

Please consider making a donation of any amount to help me reach my personal goal of $500.

Comment

